MCTA Holds Annual Meeting

Tom Campenni, Vice President, MCTA; Martin County Commissioner Stacey Hetherington; State Senator Gayle Harrell and Kevin Powers, President, MCTA

When the members of the Martin County Taxpayers Association (MCTA) gather for their annual fundraising dinner, it’s with a great sense of history. Founded in January 15, 1950, it is the oldest taxpayers’ association in the state of Florida.

On January 10, 2023, more than one hundred attendees gathered at Monarch Country Club for the convivial event.  Local luminaries – including elected officials – packed the room.

In attendance were Florida State Senator Gayle Harrell, former Florida House representative MaryLynn Magar, and Martin County Commissioners Doug Smith, Harold Jenkins, Ed Ciampi and Stacey Hetherington.

Other notables included City of Stuart Commissioners Troy McDonald and Becky Bruner. Martin County Administrator Don Donaldson, Ocean Breeze Town Council President Ken DeAngelis, Ocean Breeze Mayor Susan Ostrand, Martin County Supervisor of Elections Vicki Davis and Martin County Property Appraiser Jenny Fields. Keynote speaker was Judge Darren Steele of the 19th Judicial Circuit Court of Florida.

A highlight of the evening was the presentation of the “Friend of Martin County Tax Payer Award” to Commissioner Hetherington. This award is presented to an official or taxpayer who can and does make a difference by watching out for the taxpayer.  The award states that Commissioner Hetherington won for "tenacity, transparency, and asking the tough questions".

MCTA is a 501(c)(3) organization, the purpose of which is to review, monitor and report on tax and other financial issues that impact the taxpayers of Martin County. Activities involve meeting with local appointed and elected officials including the Board of County Commissioners, the School Board, the County Administrator and/or the staff, the Superintendent of Schools and other key individuals in the County. To learn more, visit