VERO BEACH – The Cultural Council of Indian River County is now soliciting nominations for the 23rd annual Laurel Awards to be presented May 8 at Riverside Theater. Since 1996, the Laurel Awards have recognized individuals in the community who have strived to demonstrate support of the arts in a variety of means. Laurel Awards are given in a wide array of categories that have included cultural leadership roles in business, education, philanthropy, and volunteerism, as well as an award that recognized a local artist of their field who earned the respect of the community and their peers for their dedication to their art.

This year’s categories are: Richard A. Stark Award for Cultural Leadership; Alma Lee Loy Award for Volunteer Leadership; Willie C. Reagan Award for Educational Leadership; and John J. Schumann, Jr. Award for Business Leadership. All members of the Cultural Council are encouraged to nominate a person or business deserving of a Laurel Award. Those making nominations must be Cultural Council members, those being nominated do not need to be. Nomination forms are now available on the Cultural Council website, and in the Cultural Council office. The deadline for submitting nominations to the Cultural Council is March 29, 2019. Contact Barbara Hoffman at the Cultural Council of IRC at (772) 770-4857 with any questions.

The May 8 Laurel Awards event at Riverside Theater will once again open with a lovely reception as the theatre’s lobby is turned into an art gallery by members of the Cultural Council. The awards ceremony following on Riverside’s Stark Stage will include performances by members of the Cultural Council as well as the announcement of the awards.

This article was distributed through Treasure Coast Business, a news service for the readers and advertisers of Indian River Magazine.